5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I would have had this book years ago., May 2, 2013
By C. Clark (Painesville Twp., Ohio United States)
This book is just loaded with great ideas and tips to help your child get ahead of the game. Some of these things, I never realized and no one ever told us. I have just finished reading it and will soon begin to put it to use. I will write another review after I have used it.
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST HAVE book!!!!!!, March 31, 2013
“I Hate To Write” by Cheryl Boucher, MSEd, OTR and Kathy Oehler, MS, CCC-SLP is a wonderful, well-written book. This book was much needed, and I believe it will help many teachers and therapists who are working with individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders who hate to write. This book is filled with information, and strategies, backed up by research and evidence based practices. “I Hate To Write!” also has a large number of worksheets in it that can be copied and used in the classroom. This book talks about knowing what to write, writing a paragraph, writing a book report, writing a lab report, writing a research paper, and so much more. If you are ever wondering why a student with ASD has trouble when writing, and want to help them become happy writers, this book is for you. ☺I am a young adult who has an Autism Spectrum Disorder. I remember learning to write letters, I could never form the letters just right, I wrote too big, etc. I don’t hold the pencil right, and push too hard on the paper, which results in a tired hand, and broken crayons when coloring. There were times when I knew what I wanted to write, I just don’t exactly know how to word it. There have also been times when I have written something down, and I go back later to read it, and I can’t read what I wrote. Keyboarding has really opened up a whole new world for me, now I write articles and blog about autism and my life with autism. I never would of thought I would have been a writer!

Chloe Rothschild
Autism Advocate, individual with ASD

5.0 out of 5 stars A bridge to better writing and a boost in life, March 26, 2013
By Daniel Coulter (NC, USA)
An inability to write is a chasm that can cut students on the autism spectrum off from communicating their ideas and talents in important ways. “I Hate to Write” is a blueprint parents and teachers can use to help students bridge that gap. With its clear, logical approach, the book’s lessons and exercises can transform students into better writers and give them an advantage in school, work, and life.
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXTREMELY comprehensive resource!!!!, February 27, 2013
By Kelly Mahler

My first impression of this book—incredible! I HATE TO WRITE gives the reader a very comprehensive view of writing difficulties often experienced by individuals with ASD. There can be so many underlying factors impacting writing success; it can often be overwhelming to figure out how to help students with ASD reach their full writing potential. This book has a nice way of dissecting the underlying skills needed to be a successful writer—emphasizing the sensory, motor, language and organization demands of writing. I HATE TO WRITE provides many typical Teacher Concern areas such as “He can verbalize his answers and thoughts, but can’t get them on paper” or “His writing is so small and floats above the lines” or “He seems to be listening, but sometimes he completely misunderstands the assignment”. Following each Teacher Concern, there is an explanation of `why’ that writing difficulty may occur and evidence-based teaching strategies to support that particular skill area. Finally there are `Take it and Use It’ forms following every Teacher Concern. They can be copied and used right away in the classroom!! That is really convenient. This resource is a must-have for anyone wishing to make the writing process easier and more successful for individuals with ASD!!
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Easy to Use!, February 25, 2013
By res
As I was reading “I Hate to Write”, I immediately thought of numerous teachers who would be thrilled to get their hands on such a practical resource! My favorite component of the book is the Take It and Use It worksheets that help facilitate writing in a variety of ways. An added bonus is the continual references to current evidence based practices and what strategies fall in line with them. This is a resource that will get plenty of use with a wide range of student learners!
5.0 out of 5 stars Where has this book been all these years?, December 2, 2013
By Michael Booth
We had been struggling with our son with autism and his resistance to writing. For years, we focused solely on the mechanics with little success. When we saw a copy of this book, we immediately ordered our own. Reading it was absolutely eye-opening. We learned that writing is much more than a physical action and requires coordination of many brain functions and skills.

I wish more books were laid out like this. Each section presents a different problem which the student may or may not be having. It then gives an explanation for what is causing the problem, a plan for helping the student, and even sample worksheets/trackers. You easily find and use what you need and skip over the sections that you don’t. Perfect for any educator or parent who wants to help their student on the spectrum!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Ideas., November 10, 2013
This book has so many wonderful ideas. I can see a difference in my son’s (9 years old with Asperger Syndrome) after trying only a few of the techniques. Definitely worth the money.
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, September 13, 2013

Writing is challenging for my child. This book has offered me many strategies to help him write for school. We use the “Film Strip Paragraph” worksheet every time he has to write. It helps him organize his thoughts into sentences. I was also so happy to have the Occupational Therapy’s suggestions. Doing some physical exercises before writing really seems to help him focus. Thank you for this valuable resource.

5.0 out of 5 stars I Would Hate for You to Miss Out on this Book!, June 5, 2013
As an occupational therapist with many years of experience working with children on the autism spectrum-including my own son, the title “I hate to Write” not only caught my eye. I needed to find out what strategies the authors offered that would specifically address the unique needs of these students. The book’s subtitle- “Tips for Helping Students with Autism Spectrum and Related Disorders Increase Achievement, Meet Academic Standards and Become Happy, Successful Writers” describes exactly what readers will learn!

Occupational therapist Cheryl Boucher, MSEd, OTR/L and speech and language pathologist Kathy Oehler MS, CCC-SLP provide the perfect balance of information on evidence-based practices and their own strategies based on decades of experience working with students. The combined perspectives of an OT and SLP create a holistic framework for teachers to understand the challenges faced by students with an Autism Spectrum disorder (ASD)-including impaired
* Language processing
* Organization
* Sensory regulation
* Motor control
The authors explain that by the end of second grade children are expected to primarily express their knowledge through their writing rather than verbally as they did in earlier grades and to have mastered the mechanics of letter formation and spatial organization on the page. The National Common Core State Standard describes expectations for older students to perform tasks such as writing
* Narratives
* explanatory texts
* longer research projects and
* using a writing style appropriate to the task, purpose, and audience
Obviously, many students who “hate to write” struggle to achieve the early foundational and more advanced writing skills required to meet the national core standards. Therefore, the authors begin each chapter with a 1) writing requirement, followed by 2) the teacher’s concerns such as “when I ask him to write, he just sits there” or “he writes in fragments. His writing does not make sense”.
Teacher concerns are followed by 3) the “why” – explanations of brain function that impacts sensory processing, comprehension and abilities to complete tasks. Finally, and most importantly the authors provide 4) numerous strategies arranged according to functional deficits such as
* poor sensory regulation (i.e. provide dynamic seating or movement activity)
* decreased motor skills (i.e. scaffold with physical supports that are gradually faced, use technology)
* organization (i.e. use of graphic organizers such as pictures)
As one would expect, this book is well organized with a variety of adaptations and teaching options for each learning goal- so that teachers can pick the ones most suitable for the individual student. My personal favorites are the `Laser Power Letters’ activity and using the backward chaining technique to teach spelling.
Finally the appendices provide, yet more valuable information and resources on
* brain function
* glossary
* tips for the left-handed writers
* letter formation strategies
* keyboarding and
* assistive technology
Although I Hate to Write is written primarily for teachers, I think that therapists, psychologists and other professionals on the educational team will benefit from the concrete, evidenced-based information. Parents, will also appreciate learning about the types of educational strategies that are available. I recommend this book to help those who hate to write (for whatever reason!) to academically achieve to the best of their abilities.

Barbara A. Smith, M.S., OTR/L is author of The Recycling Occupational Therapist and From Rattles to Writing: A Parent’s Guide to Hand Skills